St Ives High School logo

St Ives High School

St Ives High School

Respect Perseverance Growth

Telephone02 9144 1689

Our staff

Get to know our school staff. We're all here to help.

Our professional, university-educated teachers encourage students to develop a love of learning and a desire to succeed. They maintain the highest integrity and concern for your child’s wellbeing.

The principal is responsible for the educational leadership and management of our school. If you would like to speak to the principal, please contact us to make an appointment.

Our school administrative staff can answer inquiries or direct you to the appropriate staff member for help.

School Executive

Principal: Mr Mark Watson



Deputy Principal: Ms Nathalie Bodley



Deputy Principal (rel.): Ms Claire Cartwright



Deputy Principal (rel.): Ms Natasha Mercer


Head teachers for Key Learning Areas

Head Teacher: Mr Sean Champion
KLA: Administration


Head Teacher: Ms Pat Gettens 
KLA: Creative Arts


Head Teacher (rel.): Ms Jenny Jaeger
KLA: English


Head Teacher (rel.): Ms Peta Regan
KLA: English as Second Language (ESL)/Learning other than English (LOTE)/Support


Head Teacher (rel.): Ms Maria Miller
KLA: Human society and its environment (HSIE)


Head Teacher: Mr Stewart Mitchell
KLA: Mathematics


Head Teacher: Mr Michael Kettels
KLA: Personal development, health and physical education (PD/H/PE)


Head Teacher: Mr Tim Smith
KLA: Science


Head Teacher: Ms Johanne Doherty
KLA: Technology and applied studies (TAS)

Head Teacher (rel.): Mrs Catherine Whittle
KLA: Teaching and learning

Stage 6 Head Teacher: Ms Katherine Paterson



Stage 5 Head Teacher: Mr Aaron Leggatt



Stage 4 Head Teacher (rel.): Ms Sandra Khalili


Year advisers 

Year 7 — Ms Samantha Nisbet (
Year 7 assistant - Ms Anabella Gray (


Year 8 — Ms Emily Brown (
Year 8 assistant — Mr Josh Collins (


Year 9 — Mr Lucas De Palo (
Year 9 assistant — Mr Kiatin Williamson (

Year 10 — Mr Adrian Zaboklicki (
Year 10 — Ms Emily Hung (


Year 11 — Ms Adriana Zaki (


Year 12 — Ms Emma Abraham (










Calling the right teacher

In order to streamline phone calls to the school and to save your time and frustration in not being able to speak to the correct person, here is a brief summary of who you should ring to help answer your questions. This flowchart will also assist you in your request - Who to contact?

For any queries, please ask for the following teachers:

  • If there is a class problem within a specific subject or you have a general problem within a specific subject, ask for the Head Teacher of that subject.
  • Welfare related concerns, ask for the 
    • Year Adviser, 
    • Stage Head Teachers or 
    • Deputy Principals : Nathalie Bodley (Years 8 and 12) and Claire Cartwright (Years 9 and 11) and Natasha Mercer (Years 7 and 10). 
  • For discipline concerns, contact one of the Deputy Principals.
  • For progress related concerns, ask for the Year Adviser.
  • For career advice call Mr Neil Holmes on 9144 1689

Our School Counsellors

  • For the counsellor call Mrs Emmy Druce for Years 7, 9, 11 (Mon, Thurs, Fri) and Ms Louise Dique for Years 8, 10, 12 (Tues, Wed, Fri) on 9144 1689

Contacting the school office:

Please contact the office

  • if you wish to check on attendance
  • for bus and train passes    
  • for fees and excursion payments.

You can contact the school office by calling (02) 9144 1689 or by emailing (for general queries) or (for attendance and absences).