St Ives High School logo

St Ives High School

St Ives High School

Respect Perseverance Growth

Telephone02 9144 1689

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

It is also important to understand your child's transition to Stage 5 at St Ives High School. 

University entry requirement for 2020

Here you will find UAC (Universities Admission Centre) booklet (PDF 2853KB) about university entry requirements for year 2020.

Please contact Mr Holmes (Careers Advisor) for further information. 

Bring your own device (BYOD)

In 2016 we commenced the implementation of a BYOD program for our students.

Students bring their own devices to school and utilise them in all subjects for a wide range of learning activities.

Please view the document BYOD Device Information and Specifications 2016 (DOCX 233KB) for further information on this topic. 

Related content